Purposeful Pages July 2016

Purposeful Pages Meme

Aaand it’s here!!

The first Purposeful Pages link-up was launched by Amanda and Hannah on Saturday, and today I finally get around to participating! I’ve been so excited about this ever since it was announced and am so happy the time is finally here.

 

What Exactly is Purposeful Pages?

Purposeful pages is a monthly link-up designed to unite bloggers on answering questions about life, blogging, the Bible, writing, and books. Visit Amanda or Hannah’s blogs for more info!

 

July 2016 Questions

QUESTION ONE // WHAT VERSE AND CHAPTER OF THE BIBLE INSPIRED YOU THE MOST THIS PAST MONTH, AND WHY?

“And Mary said, ‘Behold, I am the servant of the Lord; let it be to me according to your word.'” -Luke 1:38

This verse inspires me so much; this whole passage does, actually. Here’s Mary, a teenage girl engaged to be married, and an angel appears to her and basically tells her that her whole life is going to change.

She must have been terrified at the thought of what she would have to go through in terms of what people would think of her, etc. and the idea of being the mother of such an important child, and yet this is how she responds. She trusts that God knows what He is doing and can take care of her. I want to have that kind of trust!.

QUESTION TWO // WHAT’S A BOOK (FICTION OR NONFICTION) THAT YOU READ OR CONTINUED READING THIS PAST MONTH THAT REMINDED YOU OF AN IMPORTANT TRUTH?

Rose in Bloom by Louisa May Alcott reminded me that the things the world values are not always the things that will make you happy or do the most good. Rose is such a role model for me! She’s not afraid to be different from those around her if she knows it isn’t the best for her to follow their example.

QUESTION THREE // DO YOU HAVE ANY GOALS FOR YOURSELF THIS MONTH? IF SO, WHAT ARE THEY?

I haven’t really been setting specific monthly goals for myself, but there are some things that I want to do:

  • Get back on pointe after a minor injury I had this spring
  • Finish Camp NaNoWriMo with a rough draft of 30,000 words
  • Stick to my blogging schedule (so far, so good!)
  • Read a bunch of the books on my summer to-read list

QUESTION FOUR // HAVE YOU DISCOVERED ANYTHING NEW OR CHANGED YOUR BLOG AROUND THIS PAST MONTH?

I don’t think so. Unless you count my new Mon/Wed/Sat posting schedule.

QUESTION FIVE // WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE BLOG POST THAT YOU WROTE IN JUNE?

Probably 6 Ways to Use Your Summer Well. I don’t know why, I just really enjoyed writing that one. I also really like Thoughts From a New Harry Potter Fan and How to Take Sermon Notes.

QUESTION SIX // CAN YOU SHARE ONE QUOTABLE THING FROM YOUR NOVEL/BOOK (IF APPLICABLE) THAT YOU RECENTLY WROTE?

My book is still in the rough draft stage so there probably isn’t anything even remotely quotable in there, but let’s see…

Keeping her out of the way was exactly what Helen had intended to do. So how did she find herself standing with Adelaide against the doorway of the king’s secret council room, eavesdropping?

“It’s for everyone’s good,” Adelaide insisted. “If we don’t know what’s going on we could have a war sprung on us. Besides, I’ve heard the prince is very handsome.”

As if that had any relevance to what they were doing right now. It’s not like they could see what was happening.

QUESTION SEVEN // WHAT BIBLICAL CHARACTER WOULD YOU GET ALONG WITH THE MOST, AND WHY?

Hmmm…

Can I say Mary again? I think I would really like hanging out with her.

QUESTION EIGHT // FAVORITE NEW WORD UNEARTHED FROM THE DICTIONARY?

Licit, adj: Conforming to the requirements of the law, not forbidden by law, permissable

We all know about the word “illicit”. I just thought it was cool that this word existed too. Who knows why it didn’t catch on like illicit did.

QUESTION NINE // IN THE BLOGGING WORLD, WHAT’S ONE THING YOU HAVE LEARNED ABOUT YOURSELF?

That I am much more comfortable sharing my beliefs and opinions when it’s behind the comfort of a screen. In person, I can be very shy about sharing opinions contrary to the norm, but for some reason I have no problem sharing things like that on a blog for the whole world to read.

QUESTION TEN // WHAT FICTIONAL CHARACTER WOULD YOU SPEND THE DAY WITH, AND WHAT WOULD YOU DO?

…can I pick like twelve characters instead of one? No?

Then I’m going to go with Aragorn from The Lord of the Rings. Just because recently I started thinking about him like he really existed. And then I realized he didn’t and became really sad.

 

So there you go! The first set of Purposeful Pages questions. I hope you enjoyed this! I sure did! 

If you have a blog, you should totally participate! Go to one of Amanda’s or Hannah’s blogs to get the full details. Definitely leave me the link to your post so I can read your answers! 

If you don’t have a blog, feel free to answer these questions in the comments! 

love, grace

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Purposeful Pages July 2016

  1. emily @ for the bookish says:

    Wow, I have got to do this link-up! I’ve loved reading everyone’s posts. I’m going to have to really think about these questions! I loved… *half* of Rose in Bloom. *shields eyes in shame* I desperately need to finish it. I have to agree with you on question nine. I’m much more reserved and shy about sharing my opinions — frankly even if I tried, they would come out much less eloquently than in writing. That’s the beauty of blogging. 🙂

    I’ve nominated you for a writer’s tag on my blog yesterday! I hope you can participate and like the questions: http://forthebookish.com/the-wisteria-writer-tag/

    Like

    • graceevalyn says:

      Thanks for the nomination! I will get to that soon.
      Yes, with writing, I totally agree that it’s easier to be eloquent and actually say what you want to say in a convincing way. That’s definitely one of the reasons I find it so much easier. You can edit as much as you like before you publish 🙂
      And you should finish Rose in Bloom! It’s one of my favorite books.

      Like

  2. Amanda Beguerie says:

    Eep, thank you so much for participating, Grace! ❤
    I really loved your thoughtful answers. And I didn't know that 'licit' was a word. How interesting! Plus, your snippet was so intriguing! 😀

    Like

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!