Purposeful Pages August 2016

Purposeful Pages Meme

Linkup information: Hannah’s blog / Amanda’s blog

I was on hiatus when this month’s Purposeful Pages came out, but now I’m going to finally participate! I had lots of fun with this last month and am so excited to do it again!

 

What Exactly Is Purposeful Pages?

Purposeful pages is a monthly link-up designed to unite bloggers on answering questions about life, blogging, the Bible, writing, and books.

 

August 2016 Questions

QUESTION ONE // WHAT BOOK OF THE BIBLE HAS TAUGHT YOU THE MOST THIS MONTH?

Recently, I’ve started reading a Psalm or two before bed every night, and am realizing how much I love the Psalms. If you need encouragement and strength, go to the Psalms. If you need to be reminded of who God is, go to the Psalms. If you want to better appreciate the beauty of the Bible, go to the Psalms. It’s the best way to end the day!

QUESTION TWO // HOW WOULD YOU REACT IF YOU WERE IN THE POSITIONS OF EITHER ESTHER, IF YOU’RE A GIRL, OR DANIEL, IF YOU’RE A GUY?

Ooh. I like to think I would do what Esther did and be brave and stand up for herself…but no one knows how they would react in a situation like that until they are actually there…

QUESTION THREE // IF YOU COULD HAVE A BOOK CHARACTER FOR A SIBLING, WHO WOULD IT BE, AND WHAT MAKES YOU TWO ALIKE?

Elsie Dinsmore. It’s no secret how much of a role model I’ve always found her, and maybe just by being around her some of her incredible love for God would rub off on me?

QUESTION FOUR // IF YOU’RE A NOVELIST, ANSWER: HOW WOULD YOUR MAIN CHARACTER MOST LIKELY SPEND HIS OR HER FRIDAY NIGHT? IF YOU’RE NOT A NOVELIST, ANSWER: HOW WOULD YOU MOST LIKELY SPEND YOUR FRIDAY NIGHT?

Going with the main character of my Alice in Wonderland retelling, Helen:

In England, she would spend her Friday night at home with her father and sister reading and keeping an eye on the house. If her brother William dropped in, she would be obliged to entertain whatever girl he brought with him.

In Wonderland, she would get dragged to a lavish dinner party by Adelaide, her royal friend.

QUESTION FIVE // WHAT ARE THE TOP THREE BOOKS YOU’RE JUST DYING TO READ?

  1. The Five Enchanted Roses collection (neeed to reeead)
  2. Wicked by Gregory Maguire (because I saw the musical this summer, it’s great and I want to see how the book compares)
  3. Dear and Glorious Physician by Taylor Caldwell (a vintage book I picked up on a road trip that’s about the man who wrote the gospel of Luke…how cool is that?? Plus vintage books are cool anyway)

QUESTION SIX // CAN YOU BRIEFLY SHARE THE STORY BEHIND YOUR BLOG’S NAME?

My blog’s name comes from Philippians 4:8, which I actually shared in my last post:

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” -Philippians 4:8

I want to encourage us to live out this verse, to think about things like those, and to live lives that are honorable, pure, lovely, commendable, excellent, etc.

QUESTION SEVEN // WHAT DO YOU CONSIDER TO BE YOUR BLOG’S “BRANDING,” OR SIGNATURE? WHAT SETS YOUR BLOG OR SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORM APART FROM OTHERS?

That’s a hard question.

I definitely think my writing style is different from a lot of blogs I’ve read. I try to be professional and helpful in the majority of my posts while still being inspirational and coming across as a person. (How am I doing?)

QUESTION EIGHT // WHO ARE A FEW OF YOUR FAVORITE BLOGGERS?

Cait, who I recently discovered and makes me laugh out loud while reading her posts. I’ve followed Deborah O’Carroll for a long time and really love her blog(s). Katie Grace is another one who makes me laugh a lot. Emily is great. Schuyler makes me think. Olivia, who hasn’t posted in a while but still has lots of great stuff in her archives. And of course Amanda, who co-hosts this linkup and inspires me so much!

QUESTION NINE // IF YOU COULD GO ON A ROAD TRIP OF YOUR DREAMS, WHERE WOULD YOU GO AND WHO WOULD YOU SPEND TIME WITH?

I would gather my sisters and all of my closest Christian friends together, add in a sprinkling of Christian blogger friends who I would love to meet in person, and throw in my dog for fun. We would start in Florida to visit Disney World, Seaworld, and Harry Potter World. After that we would make our way up the East Coast, stop at the Outer Banks for a while, and then stop in D.C. to see some shows and visit some museums.

Once out of D.C., we would continue north, stopping in Baltimore and Philadelphia before reaching our final destination: NYC. There we would stay for a couple of weeks and take in shows and city life galore before heading home. (Can you tell I love cities?)

QUESTION TEN // USING FIVE WORDS OR LESS, TELL A STORY.

That day, she won life.

(hmm…new story inspiration? maybe…dystopian? we’ll see.)

 

I hope you enjoyed this month’s Purposeful Pages! If you have interesting answers to any of these questions, share them in the comments, and if you have a blog, be sure to participate! Visit Amanda or Hannah for more information. (If you participate, leave me the link. I’d love to read it!) 

love, grace

8 thoughts on “Purposeful Pages August 2016

  1. Amanda Beguerie says:

    Somehow, I mustn’tve commented on this? Anyway, I really loved your answers. Thank you so much, sweet Grace, for listing me as one of your favorite bloggers! ❤ And while I could totally comment and agree with everything you said here, I'll keep it short and say your answers were lovely, and I love the Psalms as well. 🙂

    Like

    • graceevalyn says:

      You’re welcome 🙂 I’ve followed you for a pretty long time, you were one of the first blogs I found, and I don’t plan to stop following anytime soon…you really are one of my favorites and I can’t wait to read your book!!
      Glad you liked my answers! I’m having lots of fun doing this linkup so far!

      Liked by 1 person

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

