Purposeful Pages November 2016

Purposeful Pages Meme

Linkup info: Amanda’s blog / Hannah’s blog

And now, for the final Purposeful Pages installment. I’ve really loved participating in this linkup! Hopefully you got to know me a little better and found encouragement, inspiration, or motivation through my answers to many of these questions.

If you want to read or reread any of the previous installments, here they are:

July 2016:  a novel snippet, hanging out with Mary and Aragorn, and “licit”

August 2016:  3 books I was dying to read (only one of which I’ve actually read since then…), my blog’s name, and my dream road trip

September 2016: inspiring people, my theme song, and my blogging habits

October 2016: why I write, banned books, and my Myers-Briggs type

I’m not going to copy and paste the description again. You can read it in any of those four posts or on Amanda’s or Hannah’s blog. If you’ve been following me for any length of time you’ve likely read it before, so let’s just get on with the questions!

November 2016 Questions

Question One // Is there an organization, website, or collaborative blog that you encourages you?

The Rebelution. I think that actually fits under all three of these categories. It started when I read Do Hard Things in middle school, then I found the website. It’s an incredible book, blog, community, and movement that is really changing lives. Whether in the posts, the discussion forums, the comments, or whatever else, it’s full of similar-minded people striving to live their lives for God. You can’t get much more encouraging than that.

Question Two // When do you feel the most empowered to live life to the fullest?

Right after I read a book/blog post or listen to a song that has that sort of message. A few examples that come to mind:

Do Hard Things by Alex and Brett Harris 🙂

Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper

“Do Life Big” by Jamie Grace

Question Three // Who is an author that has impacted you deeply?

If you have read my blog for a while, I’ll give you a chance to guess what my answer to this question is…

C.S. Lewis! Mere Christianity, The Chronicles of Narnia, The Space Trilogy… it’s all so beautiful and some of the best literature/nonfiction I’ve ever read. Narnia has been a part of my life forever and as I’ve gotten older the others have become just as fundamental in my understanding of the world. Mere Christianity especially is a book that I plan to reread often.

For more: The Trinity According to C.S. Lewis / C.S. Lewis: God Outside of Time

Question Four // Love. What Bible verse has shown you the depths of God’s love recently?

“To him who loves us and has freed us from our sins by his blood and made us a kingdom, priests to his God and Father, to him be glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.”

-Revelation 1:5-6

I just love the connotation of God’s people as priests, and what a personal nature that gives our relationship with Him. Also, yes, I am reading in Revelation at the moment. I absolutely love it! It’s such a beautiful book literature-wise and has lots of passages like the one above that just encourage me and lift me up.

Question Five // What words do you love the sound of?

Oh man. I know I have a favorite word (definitely in Latin, and probably in English too), but I can’t think of it right now. If I do think of it I’ll update this post!

Question Six // When do you feel most alive?

When I perform for the glory of God. Dance, singing, piano, acting, anything…it can all be done to bring glory to God, and that is when I find the most joy and fulfillment in it. I love performing on stage in general, and the extra layer adds so much more to it.

Question Seven // How has blogging impacted you?

Blogging is something that I cannot imagine my life without. It has given me a platform to share encouragement and sort out my thoughts on topics and issues. I have learned how to articulately express my beliefs. I have discovered that there are far more people in the world who think the same way than I ever realized before. I have learned that friends who I have never met in person can be just as wonderful as the friends I see every day. And I have learned how much I truly do love to write and express my thoughts through writing.

Question Eight // What do you wish you could tell your five-years-younger self?

Enjoy the next few years of your life. Homeschooling and private school are incredible blessings, whether you might like them at the moment or not. Appreciate them. Public school is nowhere near as good. Plus, these years fly by. Before you know it, you’ll be a junior and have to start thinking about the rest of your life. Enjoy the last little time that you get to be a child and stop being impatient to grow up.

Question Nine // When you think of joy, what comes to mind?

A full, heart-stirring, soul-lifting love that overflows into the lives of others. A smile here, a greeting there that warms the hearts of those who go by. A life lived to the fullest with no room for regrets, every moment seized to use for God’s glory. The ability to get through all circumstances, no matter how hard, leaning on God for courage and support.

Question Ten // What kind of legacy would you love to leave?

I want to leave a legacy of putting God before everything and putting Him into everything; of loving learning and education and believing in its value; of valuing life, people, and morality; of using every gift for His glory; of joyfully living life like described in the previous answer. I want to leave a legacy of faith and trust and joy.

 

So there you have it! The last installment of Purposeful Pages. Let me know how you liked this linkup, and be sure to follow Amanda and Hannah! If you participate, leave your link in the comments, or just share your answers to some of these questions! 

love, grace

One thought on “Purposeful Pages November 2016

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

