September Purposeful Pages

Purposeful Pages Meme

Linkup information: Hannah’s blog / Amanda’s blog

It’s time for another round of Purposeful Pages questions! Be sure to check out my previous ones for July and August if you haven’t seen them yet.

What is Purposeful Pages?

Purposeful Pages is a monthly link-up designed to unite bloggers on answering questions about life, blogging, the Bible, writing, and books.

September 2016 Questions

Question One // How have you been growing spiritually this month? What has God been teaching you?

God has been teaching me that it’s okay to not be perfect all the time. I know I’ve blogged about this before, but I still struggle with perfectionism in the tiniest little areas of life, even when no one is watching. Recently God has reminded me that seeking fulfillment in exact perfection will never work, and that I need to relax and seek fulfillment and happiness through Him.

P.S. Amanda published a great post today that reinforced everything I’d been thinking about. If you’re struggling with perfectionism too, I highly recommend it!

Question Two // // When you’re under stress, what actions do you take that help calm you and keep you sane?

Cry? Haha. Well. Um. Moving on.

Actually, I gravitate toward playing the piano when I’m overstressed. It helps me calm down but still feel kind of productive at the same time. And it’s super therapeutic!

Question Three // Who are some people that inspire you, and in what ways do they do that?

William Wilberforce, for being basically the biggest goal-achiever in history.

C.S. Lewis, because his writing is on a level unlike any other author ever.

Elisabeth Elliot, because she had such a beautiful heart.

Gabby Douglas, because her book inspired me to work hard for my dreams.

Misty Copeland, because she’s a dancer who has made it where no one thought she could.

Question Four // Have you learned any tricks this past month that have helped you in your blogging journey?

It’s okay to take a break. Not a trick, but something I learned that is so true. Having some time off from blogging helped me so much and guess what? All of you lovely followers are still here. In fact, for some reason I gained quite a few followers while I was on a break (maybe God reminding me that it was okay to step aside and not be online all the time?).

Question Five // What is it about a book that makes you keep on reading? If you’re a writer, how can you  incorporate that into your own books?

If I want to know what happens to the characters. Nothing else grips me quite as much as characters that I care about. Obviously the plot has to be well-done, the writing has to be good, etc., but if I don’t LIKE and care about the characters the book has less chance of survival than a spider crawling across my floor at night (read: none).

 

Question Six // What’s a book cover (or album, movie, etc.) that describes your life right now, and why?

Image result for dancing through it

This is a hard question. But I think “dancing through it” describes my dance life and pretty much my entire life right now. I’m trying to push through the busyness and still enjoy every day. And in dance class…”just get through it” tends to be an often-replayed phrase in my mind. (As much as I love it, it’s difficult!)

Question Seven // Do you have a song in mind that you’d consider your current theme song? (Or a book, movie, TV show, etc.)

“First” by Lauren Daigle

Question Eight // If you’re a writer, how do you see yourself incorporated (most of the time unknowingly) inside your stories?

I think all of my stories are very clean, innocent, because there are things that some Christian writers deal with that I’m completely uncomfortable writing about. I have a feeling my protagonists tend to come across as very innocent as well, which I think is a reflection of my own values.

Question Nine // How have you seen aspects of God’s character through other people recently?

Someone held the door for me today and that was really nice. And I think that counts, because it’s a form of showing love to people and really brightened my day, and chivalry is growing more and more obscure.

Question Ten // How long, on average, does it take you to put together a blog post? Are you the morning person working at 5 am, the afternoon blogger, or the night owl up until midnight trying to throw things together?

I am definitely the afternoon blogger. Well..right now I’m the evening blogger, but that’s because I wasn’t home most of the day. But I tend to do my blog posts during the day around the same time I’m doing my homework and other “desk-work” type things.

Typically I would say it takes me anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour, sometimes longer if it’s a month-in-review or something that requires a lot of research, pictures, or linking. I’m a pretty fast blogger.

 

So there you are! I hope you enjoyed this post and learned something about me through the questions. If any of the questions interest you, share in the comments below! And if you have a blog, you should definitely join the linkup! 

love, grace

5 thoughts on “September Purposeful Pages

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

