Monthly Update: October

Ah, November. The month of apple cider, falling leaves, Thanksgiving, cozy sweaters, and FRANTIC WRITING LIKE CRAZY SO YOU CAN WRITE 50,000 WORDS IN 30 DAYS! (I’m looking at you, National Novel Writing Month.)

How did a month so tranquil become a month so stressful and panic-inducing?

I guess I wouldn’t have to participate.

I’m a crazy writer.

Anyway, here’s a little update on what happened in October…

What I Read

Four books!! Hurray for books! I actually read stuff! Yay!

  • The Reason for God by Timothy Keller: four stars. Very good, well-written, and thought-provoking.
  • The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien: a re-read. five stars. obviously. I had a sudden craving for Tolkien even though there are millions of other books to be read.
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde: I have no idea what to rate this book. My five-star criteria says “This book was deep, emotionally compelling, and beautiful.” Deep? yes. Emotionally compelling? There were definitely emotions involved… Beautiful? Absolutely not. It was not beautiful. It was horrific. But so, so good. Be warned that your emotions will suffer if you read this book. But still, read it.
  • The Gammage Cup by Carol Kendall: four stars. Ah, yes. Children’s books. I read this after I finished the aforementioned Picture of Dorian Gray. I needed something light and happy for a change, and it certainly was.

What I Blogged

On the blog this month, we talked about…

What Others Blogged

What I Watched

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

  • The Amazing Spider-Man: three and a half stars. It was pretty good, but not amazing, and I like the original ones a lot better.
  • Aladdin: four stars. I watched this again after not watching it for years and years; there are so many references that you don’t get as a little kid! Really great classic that everyone should see.
  • Cinderella (2015): this was a re-watch, I saw it in theaters, but we just got in on DVD. Five stars. If I could give this movie more than five stars, I would! It is so, so, so good. Everyone needs to see it. I don’t care if you’re a guy. See it anyway.

What I Listened To 

Lots and lots and lots of Broadway!!

A few of my favorite songs:

“Seize the Day” from Newsies

“Defying Gravity” from Wicked

“Think of Me” from The Phantom of the Opera

Upcoming in November…

  • A smaller version of the Thanksgiving Challenge I did on my old blog last year
  • How to be cheerful in the daily grind
  • Books to read over Thanksgiving Break
  • Ideas for how to celebrate Thanksgiving

love, grace

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!