Lessons from the Law: Don’t Ignore the Old Testament!

old testament pt 1-2.jpg

What Bible verses do you see quoted most often?

John 3:16, perhaps. Psalm 23. Jeremiah 29:11. 1 Corinthians 13. I’m sure many others come to mind, verses that every Christian falls back on. And it’s true that those verses are the Word of God, wonderful, beautiful, and greatly encouraging in hard times.

But you know what else is also the wonderful, beautiful Word of God?

Exodus. Leviticus. Numbers. Deuteronomy.

If you cringed as you read that, this series is for you.

Why Read the Old Testament?

Many Christians dread reading the Old Testament, especially those first few books that are full of Israel’s laws. So we float around in the New Testament, with maybe some Psalms thrown in for good measure, and somehow never get around to truly reading and understanding the Law.

It’s true that Jesus fulfilled the law of Israel, that we are under a new covenant after his death and resurrection. But that doesn’t mean it isn’t important for us anymore.

As I read through the law at the beginning of this year, I tried to come to it with an open mind, and God taught me so many amazing things because of that. The purpose of this series is to share them with you, to help you see the purpose of the Law and its place in the Bible.

Because nothing in the Bible is junk. God gave the entire Bible to us, every single word, for a reason. It is ALL meant to encourage, convict, instruct. I want to fall in love with the entire Bible, and I want you to fall in love with it too.

What We’ll Learn

Over the course of the next few months, we’ll learn about:

The Old Testament sacrificial system and how it points to Jesus

The cleansing laws and how they point to Jesus

Worship in the Old Testament and what we can learn from it

Equality in the law and how amazing it is

How to get started reading the law for yourself

I hope you’re as excited for this series as I am! I can’t wait to share the things I learned as I read through the law, especially Exodus and Leviticus, and to explore how this often-ignored part of the Bible is full of wonderful truth.

love, grace

What do you think? Do you avoid reading the Old Testament? What has God taught you from the law books? Is there anything you want me to cover that wasn’t listed above? Let me know in the comments! 

Read more:

How I Enjoyed Reading Deuteronomy

24 Resolution Ideas for Christian Teens

How to Take Sermon Notes

2 thoughts on “Lessons from the Law: Don’t Ignore the Old Testament!

  1. Classic Girl says:

    Hmm this was very interesting to read from the perspective of someone who (to the best of their and their families abilities) follows the Old Testament laws while believing Jesus is the Messiah. We do the festivals you can read about in the old Testament, we study the Old Testament, etc. I’ve read through the first five books of the Bible with our fellowship for about 6 years in a row. It can be soooo boring but it is all beautiful, even though sometimes we have no idea why some, like genealogies or the making of the Temple, are there. I look forward to reading more in this series.

    Like

    • graceevalyn says:

      Thanks for commenting! I will let you know (warn you…? ;)) that I do not hold that view of the Old Testament, so this series is going to be geared more toward taking the principles and seeing how they point forward to Christ and things like that. But hopefully it’ll be interesting for you to read my perspective, and I’d love to hear more about yours. I’ll look forward to more conversations as the series goes on! And you are so right that the entire Old Testament is beautiful and deserving of our attention. I think we can all agree on that, no matter what our perspective is on some of the more specific issues!

      Like

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

