October 2016 Month in Review

october 2016 month in review2.jpg

Leaves are changing colors, football is in full swing, and pumpkins decorate porches everywhere. It’s officially fall!

October was a month of settling into routines, of diligent work amid the daily grind. This month I helped at a wedding reception. I went to my homecoming football game (which we lost…) and had a ton of fun, and my chorus department sang the national anthem at another football game. I spent my weeks doing homework, going to dance class, and teaching piano lessons. Various activities with family and friends rounded out the month.

As November looms, there’s obviously one big thing on my mind…National Novel Writing Month! If you’re participating too, let me know and we can be buddies! I’m so excited. Don’t worry, it shouldn’t affect blogging too much, as I can hopefully still get posts up once a week. But if I do end up disappearing without explanation, that’s why.

This Month’s Devotions

This month I finished reading Hebrews and continued through James, 1  Peter and 2 Peter. I am now about halfway through 1 John. I’m getting near the end of this Bible read-through, and it will be the first time I’ve ever read the Bible all the way through. I’m excited to finally have read the whole thing!

Some things God taught me this month:

*True faith leads to works. Faith comes first, and then the works follow; the works are not something we must do in order to gain faith, but the other way around.

*Judging one another means putting ourselves and our own standards above God’s law. That is sin.

*In the Christian life, the solution to everything is putting God first. It helps to humble us, make us kinder to others, gain peace for the future, overcome temptation…it is the key to righteousness.

*Every instruction for how to live comes back to the gospel. It all has its foundation in the work of Christ.

Bloggings

Purposeful Pages Memethe linkup:  why I write, a book I would burn, my Myers-Briggs type, and more

encouragement for teens trying to find their way in life

living on the edge edited.jpggetting rid of a cultural rebellious attitude

from other blogs…

This post soothed my soul and quieted the perfectionist in me. Amanda has a way with words that puts God’s beautiful truth into beautiful writing to match.

Should we, as Christians, be drinking the pumpkin spice latte? Hahahahaha. This post made my day. (Public Service Announcement: It is sarcasm. PLEASE do not take it seriously. I beg of you.)

In case you ever thought that writing wasn’t a real job, Liz is here to convince you otherwise.

If you have lots of time to read a long post and look at lots of pictures, Christine’s post about her bookshop job is lots of fun!

Loved this gorgeous song from Imogen Elvis.

And finally, the phantom of the opera’s girl problems. You’re welcome.

Readings

Image result for cruel crownImage result for stars above

(Would you look at how similar these books are. Also the fact that they’re both story collections to supplement a popular series. I swear it wasn’t on purpose.)

Not a great reading month for me in terms of numbers, but that book on the right more than made up for lack of reading in the early part of the month!

Watchings

Image result for sherlockImage result for big fish

Again, not all that time to watch stuff this month. But the things I did watch were very high-quality!

  • Sherlock: Finally got to watch like one episode of season three. Dying to see the rest but never have time. Still an absolutely AMAZING show.
  • Big Fish: Five stars. I watched this in my Creative Writing class at school. It doesn’t really stand up to logical analysis, but somehow that’s what makes it so beautiful. Also I don’t really know how to explain it. Look it up on IMDb or something. But highly recommended!

 

So that’s that. Have a great November, and if you’re participating in National Novel Writing Month, good luck! See you next week!

love, grace

6 thoughts on “October 2016 Month in Review

    • graceevalyn says:

      SHERLOCK IS SO GOOD WATCH IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!
      *whew*
      *fangirl moment over*
      All jokes aside, it is a really good show!
      Also, I added you as a buddy on NaNoWriMo!

      Liked by 1 person

        • graceevalyn says:

          Definitely!! Sherlock episodes are how I’m rewarding myself for hitting NaNoWriMo milestones 🙂
          That’s the only reason for that 5,000 word stint…just kidding 🙂 That was a very good day. I had planned ahead to write for two hours and I sat down with my water and my socks and wrote in 25-minute stretches with a five-minute break after each. It really worked for me! But trust me, I’m not always that productive…
          I also type really fast, so that helps.

          Liked by 1 person

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

