A Day of Rest, Joy, and Worship, part 2: My Experience

sabbath part 2 2

A few months ago I wrote a post as part of my New Year’s Resolution series entitled A Day of Rest, Joy, and Worship. In that post, I talked about how Sunday has become just another day of the week and challenged us to spend it purposefully connecting to God.

In the last few months, I have been applying some of what I talked about in that post to my own life, and today I wanted to share a little bit of my experience with spending the Sabbath more purposefully and what the result was.

What Changed? 

I don’t know when I started using the Sabbath differently, exactly. But for the last little while, my Sundays have been amazingly restorative and I’ve started loving them.

So what did I change? Not that much. All I really did was shift the attitude I had toward Sundays and focus more on being close to God for the whole day.

Now I focus on the church service more, think about the hymns and prayers in a more focused way, and spend more time in prayer during communion.

When I get home, I spend time with my family over lunch and then I spend a few hours with devotions, reading a Christian book, or listening to a podcast. In other words, my entire afternoon is spent either spending time with family and friends or spending time with God. 

It wasn’t necessarily that I wasn’t doing these things before; but Sundays were really just another day. I didn’t dislike them, but I didn’t even really think about it that much. Now I love them.

The Results

The results of this increased “focused rest” on the Lord’s Day have been amazing.

I almost always end up feeling so incredibly rested, refreshed, and close to God by the end of the day, essentially starting every week with a spiritual high.

I feel so prepared and ready to face whatever the week might bring. 

And that’s the whole point of the Sabbath, isn’t it: a day to rest from the previous week and prepare ourselves to face the next week with God’s truth embedded in our hearts.

So no matter how much you fall during the week, how far away you feel from God, there’s an opportunity to come back to Him built into your routine every single week. How wonderful is that?

The Sabbath is the checkpoint, the reminder that you aren’t alone in your weekly walk. It is an amazing gift from God. Don’t waste it!

 

What do you think? Did you like this post? How do you spend your Sabbath? Are you going to try and spend it more purposefully? Do you think of it as a weekly opportunity to return to God? Tell me in the comments below! 

love, grace

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Day of Rest, Joy, and Worship, part 2: My Experience

  1. kathykuhl says:

    Absolutely! I started loving Sundays as a day of rest my senior year of college. Taking that day off every week helped me get through my toughest semester, and many other hard times since.

    Like

    • graceevalyn says:

      The Sabbath is definitely one of the most wonderful gifts God has given us! He knew exactly what we would need when he was creating the world.

      Like

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

