8 Books Every Christian Teen Should Read

books every teen should read2

Hey everyone! Today I wanted to share with you eight of my favorite nonfiction books that I think should be required reading for every Christian.

I don’t always like nonfiction, but these particular books were different; they challenged and encouraged me in my faith, gave practical advice for living it out, and held my interest the whole way through. The topics range from theology to dating and everything in between. Even if you don’t normally read nonfiction, these are must-reads. Enjoy!

Do Hard Things by Alex and Brett Harris

This book changed my life. I should really dedicate a whole post to it; I think reading it was probably the turning point of my faith and purpose. (Thank you, seventh grade teachers, for assigning it over the summer!!) The Harris brothers challenge our culture’s entire view of teens and challenge us to shatter that view. It’s compelling, motivating, and world-changing, and it’s not just a book; it’s become a whole movement.

If you take only one book off this list, this is it. 

More: The Rebelution (the Do Hard Things website/blog)

Start Here by Alex and Brett Harris

The sequel to Do Hard Things, this book takes you through the practical steps of actually doing those hard things discussed in the previous books. It addresses issues and questions that may arise and gives you a place to start (hence the title). Definitely read it after you read Do Hard Things! 

 

Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis

Yes…I know. I’ve talked about this book over and over. But how could I make a list like this and not have it on here?? It inspired and encouraged me so much, as well as completely blowing my mind. This is a must-read for every Christian, no matter your age. In fact, it’s probably the kind of book I’ll re-read every few years!

More: my mind blown by this book and my mind blown MORE

The Reason for God by Timothy Keller

If you’ve ever had questions about how to explain Christianity to an unbeliever, this is the book for you. Another one that every Christian should read no matter their age, it lays out a super-convincing case for the reality of God and addresses a bunch of common objections to Christianity. Essential for witnessing and for strengthening your own faith!

One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp

This is one of the most beautifully written books I’ve ever read. The style is different from the other books on this list; everything Voskamp writes sounds like poetry and portrays her amazing, beautiful faith. If you haven’t read this, you’re missing out on some serious food for the soul.

 

hole in our holiness 8-15-15

The Hole in Our Holiness by Kevin DeYoung

This book addresses the problem of sin, and the problem of Christians’ unwillingness to pursue holiness from a fear of legalism. It is very practical and encouraging, while being a stirring call to action for every believer. DeYoung writes in an engaging and easy-to-follow way that makes this very enjoyable and helpful read.

More: I reviewed this a looong time ago

Are Women Human? by Dorothy Sayers

Slightly different from the others on this list, this book is less well-known. It’s actually a very thin book, a compilation of two essays by Sayers on the role of women in society from a Christian perspective. She makes so many good points in here; if you’ve ever wondered what the Christian view of feminism should be, and how we as Christians should respond to the feminist movement, it will really help you!

I Kissed Dating Goodbye by Joshua Harris

This book, written by the brother of the Do Hard Things authors, is something else that every teen should read. Harris discusses why waiting to date is wise and a practical and godly method of going about finding a spouse. It was so, so helpful to me.

 

So there you go! Eight of my favorite books that I think every Christian teen needs to read. What do you think? Have you read any of these? Do you like them? Which ones will you add to your reading list? What are your favorite Christian books?  

love, grace

 

7 thoughts on “8 Books Every Christian Teen Should Read

  1. kathykuhl says:

    This good post prompted me to ponder what I read as a teen that still influences me. Mere Christianity and John Stott’s Your Mind Matters top the list.
    Instead of Sayers’ Are Women Human?, I’d suggest her Unpopular Opinions. You’ll get the same two essays plus 19 more, including some just as important. Also read her Christian Letters to a Post-Christian World, which my favorite bookworm says is cheaper at ABEbooks than Amazon.

    Like

    • graceevalyn says:

      Oh, I didn’t realize Sayers had more essays! Definitely need to read those now. I love her perspectives. She is so eloquent and has a way of saying things that really sticks with you.

      Like

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

