Why You Should Read in Multiple Genres

multigenre2

Hey guys!

I haven’t read any good books to review lately, so today I wanted to talk about something else relating to books: genres.

I am a very multi-genre person. If you look at the list of books I’ve read, you find everything from historical Christian romance to nonfiction to classics to fantasy and almost everything in between.

I’m probably not alone in this, but I do know that on some of the blogs I read, the blogger only reviews books in certain genres. It’s nice because I know what to expect from them, but I feel like if you only read one or two genres you’re missing out.

So why should you be a multi-genre person too? Here are a few reasons.

You get to read more awesome stuff. 

This is probably the most obvious and most important reason; there are so many amazing books out there, and if you decide you only like one particular genre, you will miss out on some pretty incredible things.

For example, some of my favorite books in the last year included The Hole in Our Holiness by Kevin DeYoung, That Hideous Strength by C.S. Lewis, Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand, and the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. Are any of those books anything like the others? No. Are they all fabulous books? You bet. If I had limited myself to only a certain genre or two, I would have missed out on some or all of them.

You learn more about which genres you really like. 

It is natural to like some genres more than others. But if you’ve only ever read one genre all of your life, how will you know whether there are others that you like?

Just because you may have hated one book in a certain genre doesn’t mean you will hate all books in that genre. The more widely you read, especially as a teen, the better idea you will have of what you truly like, and the more you can tailor your reading to your tastes later in life.

How to Try New Genres

If you’ve only ever read a few genres, and you want to expand your horizons, here are some tips.

  • Try starting with a genre that is similar to one that you already read, and then branching out more from there.
  • Do your research! Find out which books are considered the best in the genre you are looking to read, and start with those. Don’t just pick up a random book and start reading. It could be awful.
  • If you like the first book you read, great! Look for more like it.
  • If you don’t like the book, don’t give up. Try more. If you still hate the genre after you read four or five books, you don’t necessarily have to keep reading.

 

What do you think? Are you a one/two/three-genre person or a multi-genre person? Will you try to branch out more and read some new things? Would you like to see some of my recommendations in different genres? Let me know in the comments! 

love, grace

 

4 thoughts on “Why You Should Read in Multiple Genres

  1. Amanda Beguerie says:

    Great advice, Grace! 😀

    I tend to read Christian fantasy mainly, but I also really enjoy nonfiction, real-world fiction, historical fiction, some sci-fi, dystopian, etc. Such as:

    The Ilyon Chronicles by Jaye L. Knight – New Adult Christian Fantasy (FAVORITE SERIES EVER)
    The Help by Kathryn Stockett – Historical Fiction (ish?)
    Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis – Christian Living Nonfiction
    The Pastor’s Kid by Barnabas Piper – Specific Christian Nonfiction (aka pertaining to me, a PK)
    The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer – Young Adult Sci-Fi
    The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – Young Adult Fantasy
    The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – Young Adult Dystopian
    Counted Worthy by Leah E. Good – Christian Young Adult Dystopian
    The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux – Classic/Horror/Mystery/Thriller
    Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson – Classic/Mystery/(unintentional) Christian Allegory

    I know you’ve read some of these. 😉 I mainly like the speculative fiction genre, but I also like to branch out sometimes too. You never know; sometimes, you’ll find a new favorite!

    Like

    • graceevalyn says:

      I definitely read a lot of fantasy type books, but I also do read a lot of classics and I’ve read quite a bit of historical fiction over the years too. I also won’t object to nonfiction either. But speculative is definitely also my favorite. I NEED TO READ THE ILYON CHRONICLES SO BAD!! They sound amazing.

      Like

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

