Modesty According to the Bible

modesty series 2

Hey guys! Before we get into today’s post…I’m so sorry for my extended absence last week. On Saturday I was in Nashville with my chorus, so that was planned, but I can’t for the life of me remember why I didn’t post on Tuesday. I just looked at my comments section again, and I have so many that I didn’t reply to. I read them all, I promise! But last week was a little crazy, so if I didn’t respond to you, that’s why. I’m trying to get back into the groove of things now.

My post introducing the series on modesty got such a positive response, so I’m glad you are all interested in this topic! Onwards!

Modesty is a topic that has been written about a lot. People have a lot to say about it. But before we get into my personal beliefs, opinions, and tips about the subject, we need to have a firm foundation in what the Bible says about modesty.

There are two main truths from the Bible that we need to remember as we go about this study:

1. Modesty is an outward expression of inward godliness. 

I desire then that in every place…women should adorn themselves in respectable apparel, with modesty and self-control, not with braided hair or gold or pearls or costly attire, but with what is proper for women who profess godliness-with good works.

-1 Timothy 2:8-10

This is probably the most famous verse about modesty. The thing we should take away from this verse is not that we are not allowed to braid our hair or wear jewelry. What we should take away from this verse is that we are called to dress in a way that demonstrates our godliness to the world. 

When we are Christians, we express our change of heart outwardly toward others. This verse’s main point is that good works are our ultimate witness. If our clothes are distracting from our words and actions actions, we are not displaying modesty. If our clothes are contradicting our words and actions, we are not displaying modesty.

2. Modesty is not an expression of shame, but rather of pride and dignity in the Lord. 

The most common misconception the world has about modesty is that when we are modest, it means we are ashamed of our bodies. This could not be further from the truth!

Take a look at these verses:

Strength and dignity are her clothing…

-Proverbs 31:25a

The body is not meant for sexual immorality, but for the Lord, and the Lord for the body…Do you not know that your bodies are members of Christ…your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God…you are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.

-1 Corinthians 6:13b-20

Modesty is the very opposite of shame. As Christians, everything about us belongs to God, including our body. It is a temple, God’s instrument to use for His work in the world.

Because of that, we should honor our bodies. They are beautiful and precious, created by God. And because we honor our bodies, we do not share them with everyone who wants to look. We are careful that we do not expose ourselves, but rather that we maintain our dignity and honor by dressing in a way that reflects who we are on the inside.

That is the foundation of Biblical modesty. 

 

What do you think? Did you like this post? Are you excited for the rest of the series? What questions do you have about modesty that I should answer at some point during the series? Let me know in the comments!

♥ love, grace ♥

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Modesty According to the Bible

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

