A Challenge: READ A BOOK.

*In which I take a break from regularly scheduled reviews, etc. to bring you a book-related public service announcement*

Is it just me, or does it seem like teenagers are no longer reading?

I know, this is probably preaching to the choir. Many of you reading this blog just love books. Some of you even have book blogs. (like Emily. Hi, Emily!)

But in case there are people reading this blog who don’t read very much, I’m here to talk to you.

I’m not talking about people who just don’t like reading. I don’t understand you at all, and it’s impossible to NEVER find a book that you like, but that’s another problem for another day. Today, I’m talking to the people who enjoy reading but make these excuses:

  • “I don’t have time.”
  • “I get overwhelmed.”
  • “I’m too tired.”
  • “I’m too hungry.”
  • “My brain is dying.”
  • Etc…

I KNOW that teenagers have unending homework. I KNOW that you probably legitimately don’t have very much time to do anything. But the thing is, there is probably more time than you think.

For a while, back at the beginning of the school year, I was making these excuses. But I started actually making an effort to read at school, whenever I had a spare moment, and I realized something.

I have a lot of downtime at school.

There will be time to read if you try to make time for it. The problem (and I struggle with this too) is that so often we reach for our phones instead. Yes, it’s easier on your brain, but no, it’s not more productive, more fun, or better.

So I have a challenge for you:

Read. 

Read on the bus, before class, while your teacher is checking homework or passing back papers, after tests, in between classes…

Whenever you start picking up your phone for no reason, STOP and pick up your book instead. 

P.S. I’m currently reading Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis at the suggestion of my fellow Grace. It’s really good and I would highly recommend it!

What do you think? Do you have trouble making time for reading? Are you addicted to your phone? Tell me in the comments below! 

♥ love, grace ♥

 

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

