My 7 Favorite Book Couples (in honor of Valentine’s Day…)

Everyone loves a little romance every now and then, and today, in honor of Valentine’s Day, I am going to share my top 10 favorite romantic couples from books, in case you need something to read over the next week.

I decided to do this as couples instead of books, because a few of the couples I really wanted to include appeared in books that weren’t really romance novels…but they still had wonderful love stories.

These couples are all couples whose stories end happily…that is why Scarlett O’Hara and Rhett Butler aren’t on this list. Sigh.

Many of these are classic and appear on every list of this sort, some are obscure and you might not have heard of them, but they are all favorite couples of mine.

*Please note that there may be spoilers in this article since most of these couples don’t necessarily get together until the end of the book…

1. Faramir and Eowyn, The Return of the King 

I had to include them. I know Aragorn and Arwen are the quintessential Lord of the Rings couple, but I actually don’t like them as a couple very much. Mostly because Faramir and Eowyn’s romance is given much more page space in the book and the movie just RUINED it…okay. Not going to get into my views on that.

But in the books, Faramir and Eowyn’s sweet little love story happens near the end and it is just such a wonderful breath of fresh air after all of the darkness of everything and they are just so sweet!!

This is such a sweet clip…I’ll take what I can get from the movies. *sigh*

2. Betsy and Joe, the Betsy-Tacy series by Maud Hart Lovelace

If you have not read the Betsy-Tacy series, I would highly recommend it, especially to people who like Louisa May Alcott, Jane Austen, and things of that sort. It isn’t nearly as old, but it is a very cute series.

In the later books, when Betsy is in high school and then college, her gradual romance with Joe is one of my favorite things. They meet in a very unconventional way and have a rather rocky road before eventually coming together. And once they do, they are so cute.

3. Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy, Pride and Prejudice

Of course. What list would be complete without one of the most famous couples in literature? I don’t know what I can say about them that hasn’t been said except that they are just as wonderful as everyone says they are…

4. Beauty and Beast, Beauty by Robin McKinley

This isn’t as well known, but it is one of my favorite books and honestly one of my favorite couples on this list. The end is beautiful and I love them so much…

5. Emma Woodhouse and Mr. Knightley, Emma

Another quintessential couple who I love just as much as everyone else. They are wonderful and one of the few couples in literature who actually start out as friends and then grow to love each other. No love at first sight, no idealistic views of romance, just two friends who know the flaws of the other almost better than anyone else and love each other anyway. I think that is why I love this book and movie so much.

6. Jane Eyre and Mr. Rochester, Jane Eyre

And yet another famous one…this is admittedly one of the darker novels on this list, but it resolves in the end (without being unrealistic). This is a couple who goes through incredible difficulties and hardship, and so their love is deeper than that of a fairy-tale couple for whom everything goes perfectly. And since Jane is not your typical beautiful heroine, their relationship is definitely not based solely on looks.

7. Scarlet and Wolf, the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I reviewed these books on here already…you can read that review here. I said in that review that Scarlet and Wolf are my favorite couple. They are just so…cute. It’s the only word. The hesitation on Wolf’s part, the way he obviously cares for her but is afraid of messing up, and the way she has to kind of draw him out of his shell…it’s the cutest thing!!

 

So those are seven of my favorite book couples that I could think of at the moment. I hope you maybe got some new book recommendations from this!

Who are your favorite couples from books? Tell me in the comments below!!

♥ love, grace ♥

Coming soon: Is real love based on feelings?

 

 

4 thoughts on “My 7 Favorite Book Couples (in honor of Valentine’s Day…)

  1. Grace says:

    YES. ALL OF THESE!! Thank you for putting in Faramir and Eowyn — I feel like they’re so underrated, and they barely got any screen time in the movie :/ Also all the Jane Austen couples! (Excuse me while my heart explodes with feels.)

    Like

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

