Book Review: The Selection Series by Kiera Cass

selection series for blog

Title: The Selection; The Elite; The One

Author: Kiera Cass

My Rating: Three Stars

Age Suggestion: 13+ (for some slightly mature romantic scenes, a little mild language, and some violence)

I recently picked up the first of these books at Barnes and Noble. Once I started reading it, I put the rest on hold at the library because I knew I was going to need them immediately. It’s just one of those books.

I finished the third one yesterday, just in time for the review I had planned to put up of the first two, so this review will encompass these three; there are two more in the series, and some short stories, but I have not yet read those.

The Books

The Selection: 

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. (Goodreads)

The Elite:

The Selection began with thirty-five girls.
Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?

America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away. (Goodreads)

The One:

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants. (Goodreads)

What I Liked

These books…are entertaining. As in, when I’m reading one it’s all I can think about until I finish it. I read and do work in class at the same time. If it’s impossible to read for a few minutes, these books burn at my mind and make me want to get back to them ASAP.

So be warned that if you read these, you will not be able to stop.

I also thought the development of backstory and setting was done very well. The dystopian world had a solid history and felt very real.

What I Didn’t Like

First of all, I could not get over how much these books seemed like the Hunger Games. It literally was the Hunger Games except the games were about marriage and not death. Even the details, down to the charismatic TV host, felt like a copy.

Secondly, I had some moral issues with the love triangle that went on. It bothered me the way the main character handled it. I mean, at the end of the first book she basically decided not to decide, and just to see. Which would have been fine, except that she continued to lead both of them on until basically the last third of the last book. I just can’t be okay with that.

Thirdly, especially at first, the two guys involved in the love triangle seemed really similarGranted, by the third book I knew which one I liked better, but it seems like there could have been a little more character development a little sooner.

And finally, especially in the last book there were some things that happened all at once that I wasn’t really prepared for and didn’t really fit. A character turned good and became completely different from the first two books and some people turned out to have secrets that had not been hinted at much at all. It was just a little disjointed or something.

Overall Thoughts

I liked these books, I really did. They were very entertaining and kept me wanting to read them. I would certainly recommend them if you enjoy this sort of dystopian, fairy-tale love story with a little bit of action thrown in. There were just some overarching issues that I had trouble getting over.

Do I recommend them? Yes, I do, but just as a fun, light read, not stunning literature.

love, grace

 

 

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Selection Series by Kiera Cass

  1. jackthorton says:

    Great blog post as always. I recently subscribed to your blog, and really enjoy your perspectives on life. I find your posts inspiring, open-minded, and thought-provoking. Keep it up! Just a suggestion for this post. It might be helpful to those of us not familiar with The Hunger Games or this series if you included a quick synopsis of the book so we can get an idea of what’s going on. Otherwise awesome. 🙂

    Like

    • graceevalyn says:

      Thanks for the comment! And sorry I took so long to respond, I was traveling and then got sick.
      And yes, I usually do include a synopsis in my book reviews but appear to have completely forgotten this time. *facepalm* It didn’t even cross my mind to put that in for some reason. I’m going to go back and add that now. Thanks for noticing 🙂 And thank you for the encouragement, it means a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

