Month in Review: November 2015

Well, November is over. And it is now officially the holiday season. So, now it’s okay to play Christmas music and put up decorations. It wasn’t okay before Thanksgiving!!

Anyway, here’s a recap of what my November held.

What I Did

Nothing super interesting, just school and dance and homework and other normal activities.

There was also a lot of writing involved this month, of course.

And Thanksgiving, of course, spent with my extended family. I love Thanksgiving food. It’s absolutely the best!! If you’re American, tell me your favorite Thanksgiving food in the comments!

What I Read

I have six books to report!! Yes, I read this many while doing NaNo. But they were all either really quick reads or I read the bulk of them in October and finished early in November.

A Cup of Comfort for Writers: four stars. This is a collection of essays and reflections from writers on the writing process and life as a writer. It was very good and inspirational.

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand: five stars!! I finally read this after wanting to read it for so long and buying it over the summer. It is so, so, so good.

The Selection by Kiera Cass: three stars. This was another one that I had been really wanting to read. It was good, and the series is a bit addictive, but there was some things I didn’t like about it. Review coming soon!

God of the Fairy Tale by by Jim Ware: four stars. A very interesting look at how fairy tales reflect the truth of the Bible.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer: four and a half stars. Very, very good, and I am anxiously waiting to get my hands on the rest of the series!!

Amazing Grace by Eric Metaxas: Also four and a half stars. I need to read more biographies by Metaxas. He has a way of keeping you really interested, especially since this was about William Wilberforce, one of my major role models. Very, very good.

What I Wrote 

I already talked about NaNoWriMo on the blog some, so I won’t repeat any of it here; just go check these posts out if you haven’t already seen them:

What I Blogged

This month on the blog…

What Others Blogged

Here are a few of my favorite blog posts I read this month:

What I Watched

Product Details

I finally watched Inside Out! I give it 4.5 stars. It was so clever, and a very well-done movie! It’s the kind of movie that everyone will find something they like in it.

What I Listened To

Product Details

Aside from all of the Broadway, I think my favorite thing I listened to this month was As I Am by Kristin Chenoweth, who is a Broadway singer (are you sensing an obsession…?).

This particular album, however, is not Broadway songs, but rather a mix of Christian and other contemporary songs. Yes, Christian. It’s always nice when you discover that a celebrity is openly Christian.

She has a really good voice and the songs are wonderful. Check this out!

Upcoming in December

Get excited! I’ve got lots of fun things planned for December:

  • A book review of The Selection and The Elite, the second book in the series;
  • Tips for staying organized and relieving stress in what is probably the busiest month of the year;
  • Digging into the meaning of some of my favorite Christmas hymns;
  • Some talk about reflecting on the year and New Year’s resolutions for the Christian;
  • A review of my readings and writings in 2015, and an overview of what I hope to read and write in 2016!

 

How was your November? Did you have a good Thanksgiving? Did you participate in NaNoWriMo? Tell me all about in the comments below!! 

love, grace

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

