Great Books to Read Over Thanksgiving Break

Hi everyone. Yes, I know this is Sunday and not Saturday. I’ve been looking forward to this post for a long time, so I’m going to go ahead and put it up, even though I started it yesterday and then totally forgot to finish it and put it up. Oh well. Here it is. Better late than never, right? 

 

Today, since this coming week is Thanksgiving break, I’m going to give you a list of books that I think would be good choices to read over the break. Because breaks from school mean lots of time to read!

Some people have longer breaks than others, but these are for the most part going to be relatively short books that you can get through in a week or so (or sooner if you’re a fast reader), since you may not want an unfinished book hanging over you when you go back to school after the break. And there aren’t any series books on here either. Just short, stand-alone books so you can get some reading in over the break.

Without further ado, I present to you my TOP 9 BOOKS TO READ OVER THANKSGIVING BREAK.

(and yes, I realize it is very fairy-tale heavy. I hope everyone doesn’t mind. That’s what I read a lot of, okay!!!!????)

One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp

This book is the best for this season. This is the book that inspired my Thanksgiving Challenge. It is beautifully written, so thought-provoking, almost like poetry. If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend reading it over Thanksgiving.

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

Childhood favorite, yes. But I still love it, and still go back to it and read it again and again. Honestly, any Gail Carson Levine would fit this list. But this is my favorite book of hers that I’ve read, so here it is.

Beauty by Robin McKinley

This is, and always will be, one of my favorite books of all time. It is such a perfect, beautiful interpretation of the classic fairy tale, and the romance is so sweet.

Just Ella by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Another fairy tale retelling, I know…but this is another light, quick, but really good read for those of you that like fairy tales.

A Dream Not Imagined by Shantelle Mary Hannu

Last fairy tale retelling, I promise. This is a very short novella recently written by a relatively new author. You can probably get through it in a day, and it’s a sweet retelling of the classic story. (Also check out Shantelle’s blog, A Writer’s Heart.)

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

If you aren’t into fairy tale retellings, maybe Agatha Christie would be good for you. These books, once you get into them, will take you maybe two or three days to read because you will be reading them everywhere, all the time. If you haven’t read Christie before, start with this one. Also try And Then There Were None. 

The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

Even if you don’t normally read mysteries, you should try this one. It is populated with memorable and crazy characters and just really cleverly done. It’s been a favorite of mine for a long time.

The Light Princess by George MacDonald

Okay, yes, this is another fairy tale-ish one, but I couldn’t resist putting it on the list. Even if you don’t like other George MacDonald, try this one. It’s very short and a sweet and creative story.

The Tolkien Reader by J.R.R. Tolkien

I haven’t read this, but my sister suggested I put it on the list. I wasn’t sure it suited the category of “short”, but she swears it is, so here you are. This is for people who can’t live without classics. It’s basically a collection of short stories by Tolkien.

 

So there you are. I realize the list kind of lacks versatility, and I apologize for any guys reading this because of the amount of fairy tales, but it was very hard to come up with sci-fi or adventure fantasy that weren’t part of a series. These are just a few of my favorites (and one of my sister’s) that I think would be good to read over the break.

If anyone has any suggestions or recommendations to add, please leave a comment below!!

love, grace

 

One thought on “Great Books to Read Over Thanksgiving Break

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

