Book Review: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

My Rating: Five stars

Age Suggestion: 12+

I read this book in one sitting. It was several hours where I had to entertain myself and was not at home, and this was the book I had brought. Needless to say, I wasn’t bored. It was the second Agatha Christie I had read, the first being Murder on the Orient Express, and while I certainly liked that one, I liked this one better. It was just perfectly crafted and intriguing and kept you busy thinking and guessing.

The Book

“Ten . . .”
Ten strangers are lured to an isolated island mansion off the Devon coast by a mysterious “U.N. Owen.”

“Nine . . .”
At dinner a recorded message accuses each of them in turn of having a guilty secret, and by the end of the night one of the guests is dead.

“Eight . . .”
Stranded by a violent storm, and haunted by a nursery rhyme counting down one by one . . . one by one they begin to die.

“Seven . . .”
Who among them is the killer and will any of them survive?

(from the back cover)

My Thoughts

This is an incredible book. The mystery plot is woven together so ingeniously and cleverly that it is impossible to guess how it will end, and yet every plot twist seems as though you should have been able to predict it, which is definitely what makes a good mystery.

The characters are all distinct and different, and none of them seem above suspicion, which just makes it even harder to put the book down. Christie skillfully provides clues and red herrings so that it really is impossible to tell who the killer is.

This book is one that will take your emotions on a roller coaster; not necessarily because the deaths are meant to be tear-jerking or especially sad, but simply because there is so much death and because you are constantly trying to figure out what is going on and who is responsible for the murders.

There isn’t any romantic content, so that isn’t a problem. If I remember correctly, there are some pretty mild British swear words, but nothing very bad.

The one thing I would say in caution is that if you are someone who is particularly sensitive to violence, this isn’t the best thing for you to read. It’s never graphic, but it’s just a lot of death in a short time. So just go with caution if you think it might bother you more than it’s supposed to.

Overall, this is a really well-written, well-crafted book that I highly recommend. If you like mysteries or are just looking for a book you can’t put down, try this one!

But you really won’t be able to put it down. You have been warned.

love, grace

If you liked this review, here’s what you should do next:

Leave me a comment below and tell me if you’ve read this and whether or not you would read it if you haven’t!

Share this post on social media using the buttons below. Help get the word out!

Subscribe to my blog so you will get updated with all of the latest posts if you aren’t already subscribed!

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

