Attention, Perfectionists!

A true fact: It isn’t possible to do things perfectly.

This is something that I struggle with all the time. I am a major perfectionist. If my day doesn’t line up perfectly and I don’t have a bunch of check marks on my list, I feel like a failure. If I mess up on something, I feel like a failure.

And things are never perfect. Things never line up just right. My day never looks exactly like I planned. And that isn’t where my worth comes from. It’s not about what I do, but who I am.

I am not a failure because I am His.

No matter what my day looks like, no matter how many times I mess up or give up or fail at something, I still have worth. God still loves me, and He will never stop loving me.

It’s not about a list of rules. It’s about trusting that He is in control of everything, even my imperfections, and He will work everything out to His glory.

I am not a failure. I am loved.

And you know what the best part is?

Heaven will be perfect.

So, fellow perfectionists, don’t give up! Keep battling the tendency to let this take over your life. And as you fight that, remember this: there will be a perfect world someday. You will be perfect. Life will be perfect. In Heaven, everything will be perfect.

Your longing for perfection is truly a longing for God’s perfect kingdom.

Keep hoping and waiting. And while you wait, pray. Ask God to help you know where your worth comes from. Ask God to help you know that you are not a failure when everything doesn’t line up just right.

So stop seeking fake “perfection” in this life. It’s a fruitless chase. You will never do everything, be everything, have everything perfectly. So stop trying.

Instead, wait for the day when true perfection will be yours.

love, grace

6 thoughts on “Attention, Perfectionists!

  1. Miriam says:

    Hi Grace, I really, really love your blog. I was just telling my mom what a phenomenal author you are!
    I enjoyed this post a lot. I am definetely a perfectionist, and it can sometimes put a strain on my relationships- both with God, and with people around me. Thank you for this reminder, it gives me a lot of food for thought!
    -Miriam
    http://www.craftedbychrist.wordpress.com

    Like

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

