Book Review: The Giver

My Rating: 5 Stars
Age Suggestion: 10+
This book by Lois Lowry is one that I’ve had on my radar for a long time. I finally got around to reading it and…wow. It drew me in from the start with a plot unlike anything I’ve ever read before and took me on an emotional rollercoaster from start to finish.
The Book
The story follows Jonas, a boy living in a perfect world where everything is regulated and orderly. There is no pain, no war, no sadness. But they have lost many things as well, as he finds out when he receives his job assignment in his twelfth December, officially becoming an adult.
He is assigned a special, unique honor: he will be the next Receiver of Memory. The Receiver holds memories of the world as it once was, a world with many things that are now gone. Little by little, the old Receiver, now called “The Giver” by Jonas, transmits these memories into Jonas’ mind.
As Jonas learns the truth about his perfect society, he has to do something. He can’t be satisfied with life as it is…
What I Liked
This book has layers of complexity and depth. The descriptions of the utopia are intriguing, and, as we begin to learn the truth along with Jonas, frightening.
The writing is beautiful; the emotional intensity of the story is amazing. The story shocked me again and again and kept me reading right until the end; and the end is gorgeous.
Content
There is no distinct Christianity in this book; neither are there any anti-Christian themes. There is little or no offensive content either; I rated it for ages 10 and up because of the depth of the storyline. I feel that children younger than that would be unable to really appreciate it.
Overall Thoughts
This is a book that I want to own for my collection; one that I think I will want to read again and again. If you have not read it, I strongly encourage you to get a copy. It will draw you in and keep you reading.
Did I mention that I love emotionally intense books?
love, grace
One thought on “Book Review: The Giver

  1. jackthorton says:

    I really enjoyed this book. The plot was well developed, and the setting was unique but realistic. Ms. Lowry’s depictions of human nature were both complex and relatable. I felt like the story was set up for a fantastic ending and a eye-opening psychological conclusion, but I felt like the book just fizzled out toward the end. I found the last few pages confusing, and with out the resolution I was hoping for. I know that The Giver is first in a series. Have you read the other ones? Maybe I have to read the rest of them to really understand what the author was saying. On a side note. If you are looking for something lighter, Lois Lowry’s The Willoughbys is a quirky, whimsical story of three children who try to become orphans. Definitely recommended.

    Like

Have thoughts or questions? Leave me a comment! I love getting comments from readers and try to respond to each one. Let's start a conversation!

